What Is Health Surveillance?

Home/What Is Health Surveillance?

What is Health Surveillance?

Health surveillance comprises of a number of ongoing health assessments and checks which are undertaken as a statutory requirement for employees who are exposed to noise or vibration, fumes, radiation, dusts, solvents, biological agents and other hazardous substances, that could be hazardous to their health.

The aim of health surveillance is to detect any signs of ill-health at an early stage so that employers are able to introduce procedures and controls to prevent any further deterioration in their employees’ health.

Health surveillance also aims to provide data to help employers evaluate health risks and allow employees to raise concerns about how their working environment affects their health. Caer are focused on early prevention so we work with you to determine if your risk assessments and monitoring are effective to prevent risks arising.

We also suggest that a health surveillance program is not to be used for every employee, as it can mislead results and could result in the wrong data being used for guidance.

Remember that Health Surveillance is a Legal Requirement so please seek guidance either from Caer Health or your current provider.

Employee Health Surveillance includes: (this list is not exhaustive)
Audiometry: Employers need to provide audio surveillance:
  • for all workers exposed above 85 dBA and
  • For susceptible individuals if requested exposed between 80-85dBA
– Occupational Health Spirometry Lung Function tests.
– Occupational Health skin inspections.
– Health Surveillance for Hand Arm VibrationHAVS
Hand Arm Vibration Syndrome follows a “tiered approach”
  1. Tier One: Initial or Baseline Assessment
  2. Teir Two: Annual (Screening) Questionnaire issued once per year to check whether they need to be referred to tier 3 for a HAVS health assessment
  3. Tier Three: HAVS Assessment by a qualified occupational health Nurse  – if the assessment shows that the employee has HAVS, the employee Tier 4 will apply
  4. Tier Four: Formal diagnosis carried out by a qualified occupational health physician – you will be advised on the employees fitness for work
  5. Tier Five: Use of Standardised tests this is Optional, but the results help the physician assess fitness for work.

Caer Health run daily health surveillance clinics in Cardiff, Newport, Swansea, Mold and Bangor